Groups are used to give a group of users certain rights concerning the Agents that are monitored.
Rights are always assigned to groups and not to separate Users. One User can be a member of multiple groups. Read about Users for further information about how groups are used.
This document will explain more about the usage of the Groups. After you have read this document you will be able to choose which Groups you should create and how to apply them to Agents you are monitoring.
After you have created Users, you have to place them into groups, so you can actually work with Agents that are monitored. If you add a User, without placing it into a Group, you won't have any rights on any Agent and won't receive any notifications.
The groups can be used for several functionality, for example:
- which groups have rights to watch a system/component
- which groups may alter monitoring settings of a certain system/component
- which groups should receive the notifications of a certain system/component
- when there is a notification to which groups should it be send
- which groups may view which items
Everywhere within the application you'll get the choice to which Groups you want to apply something. You have three main features:
Groups used for Agents: configure for each Agent which groups have certain rights.
Groups used for Notification: configure for a lot of component you are monitoring to which group you want to notify.
Groups used for Items configure for each item which groups have the rights to run this report or item.
A User that is member of a Group and may run a item, will only see systems in the reports where this user has watch rights.
Groups used for Agent
This feature will appear in the monitored list where you can change the "System Settings". For each Agent you can configure:
Which groups have "Watch Rights". When a User is member of one of these groups, the user will have access to view this system information.
Which groups have "Mutate Rights". When a User is member of one of these groups, the user will see this system as selection in the Normal User Menu.
Which group has "Receive Notifications". When a User is member of one of these groups, the user will receive notifications when the selected option is : "Inherit System Escalation Groups".
Groups used for Escalation
In common when the Agent has an notification, it will send the notification to the groups that have been configured as "Receive Notification" like the above situation. So if you check Inherit System Escalation Group, it will send notifications like configured in the monitored list where you can change the "System Settings".
An extra feature is that you can make exceptions the to this rule, for example each different file or filter. Everywhere within monitoring items you'll get the choice to which groups you want to notify this item. If you uncheck the "Keep Standard System Escalation Groups", you can choose from available groups to which group you want to send this notification.
Groups user for Reports/Items
Within Items you can choose for each item which groups of users have right to see this Item.
When a user is not a member of the group Managers this user will not see this item in the available items.